Meet Ottawa’s 2020 Bootstrap Award winners


A hazardous chemical detection technology, a gaming accessory creator and an environmentally friendly snack on-the-go are just a few of the companies being honoured at this year’s Bootstrap Awards.

The annual event, sponsored by Smart & Biggar and The Ottawa Network, is a celebration of self-funded start-ups and entrepreneurs from a variety of categories. 

To be considered for a Bootstrap Award, entrepreneurs must hail from Eastern Ontario or Western Quebec, have been in business for less than seven years, and have received less than $500,000 in outside funding.

OBJ360 (Sponsored)

The 2020 award winners will gather on March 3 during the next installment of Tech Tuesdays at The Marshes Golf Club in Kanata to celebrate their success.

Here is the full list of 2020 Bootstrap Award winners: 

Green Award: Backcountry Wok 
Founder: Melanie Ang 
Product/service: Backcountry Wok creates on-the-go dried Asian-inspired vegan meals which only require hot water to eat. Designed for outdoor adventurers, the packaging is also fully compostable.

Innovation Award: Tungsten Collaborative
Co-founders: Mike Brown, William Dicke, Dave McMullin
Product/service: Tungsten Collaborative is a physical product design firm with experience in designing and creating consumer, medical, biotech, and military products.

SAAS Award: Rillea Technologies 
CEO/CTO: Lisa Hallsworth, Rob Hallsworth 
Product/service: Rillea Technologies uses a digital platform to detect and alert employees about the exposure of workplace hazardous chemicals.

Marketing Award: Hit Point Press
Founder: Ricardo Evangelho
Product/service: Hit Point Press specializes in making gaming accessories for tabletop and role-playing games, allowing users to customize their game play experience.

Bootstrap Capital Award: Space Strategies Consulting
Co-founders: Andre Dupuis, Maria Rey, Anne-Marie Dupuis
Product/service: Space Strategies Consulting brings forward creative solutions and disruptive capabilities to meet the most pressing civil, commercial and national security challenges in the air and space sectors. They offer services such as putting together qualified teams, designing missions and helping with policy, planning and strategy development. 

Disruptor Award: Lightship Security, Inc. 
Directors: Jason Lawlor, Brad Proffitt, Greg McLearn, Lachlan Turner
Product/service: Lightship Security is a cybersecurity company that develops automated processes in the age-old field of IT security certification.

Community Impact Award: Sprig Learning 
CEO/CTO: Jarrett Laughlin, Faud Khan
Product/service: Sprig Learning is an education technology company that supports teachers and parents by creating personalized learning programs for students that accelerate literacy and numeracy outcomes in the early years.

Founder of the Year: Dr. Ellie Ardakani
Company: Meta Innovation Technologies 
Product/service: Meta is an energy-tech company that works to assist oil and gas operators in bridging the gap between data and business value.

Get our email newsletters

Get up-to-date news about the companies, people and issues that impact businesses in Ottawa and beyond.

By signing up you agree to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. You may unsubscribe at any time.