CATA awards gala honours made-in-Ottawa artificial intelligence

Eli Fathi
Eli Fathi

The Ottawa-based Canadian Advanced Technology Alliance embraced artificial intelligence at its latest gala, with a prominent local firm receiving recognition for its AI product.

The CATA Alliance’s 2018 awards ceremony was hosted Wednesday evening by Carleton University’s Sprott School of Business. This year’s theme highlighted Canadian companies using AI to “boost their business,” with Accenture Canada’s managing director of AI Jodie Wallis delivering the keynote address.

Ottawa-based MindBridge AI was among the award recipients, winning the Sprott School’s Outstanding Product Achievement for its AI auditor tool. Piloted with large institutions including the Bank of England, MindBridge’s product alerts organizations to discrepancies in bookkeeping patterns that could be the early signs of internal fraud.

OBJ360 (Sponsored)

It’s been a strong month of May of the local AI firm, as MindBridge announced at the beginning of the month that it had secured a series-A round worth $8.4 million. Next week the company will also host the inaugural Impact AI conference, which brings together enterprise, academia and governments to discuss AI’s potential to affect all three.

Here’s the full list of 2018 CATA Alliance award winners:

  • Telus Outstanding Product Achievement: Helen Stevenson, Founder, Reformulary Group, Brightsquid Secure Communications Corp.

  • CATA CEO Community Leadership Award: Charles Lim, vice-president of corporate development, IMAX Corp.

  • Telfer School of Management Private Sector Innovation and/or Leadership in Advanced Technology Award: Jaime Leverton, vice-president and general manager, Canada and Asia Pacific (APAC), Cogeco Peer 1

  • ICTC Award for IT Strategic HR Management: Intuit Inc.

  • Making the Most of Her MBA Award: Emma Azzi, program officer, Canada Revenue Agency

  • Sara Kirke Award for Entrepreneurship and Innovation: Dr. Suzanne Simpson, president, founder and CEO, Human Resource Systems Group

  • Wilfrid Laurier University Public Sector Leadership Award in Advanced Technology: Roberta J. Fox, chief technology officer, Crisis Services Canada Inc.

  • Peter Brojde Award for Canada’s Next Generation Executive Leadership: Nicole Verkindt, founder and CEO, OMX (

  • Sprott School of Business at Carleton University Outstanding Product Achievement: MindBridge AI

  • Motorola Solutions Award for Public Safety Technology: Media Sonar Technologies Inc.

  • MNP Excellence in Science and Technology Reporting Award: Eric Emin Wood, associate editor, IT World

Get our email newsletters

Get up-to-date news about the companies, people and issues that impact businesses in Ottawa and beyond.

By signing up you agree to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. You may unsubscribe at any time.